Sleep Smarter Using Essential Oils

Hello lovely readers!

Can you imagine a life without adequate sleep? When I was young, I was truly an insomniac, lying in bed trying to sleep, but just tossing and turning all night instead. It was almost impossible for me to fall asleep, and sleep soundly throughout the night at that was even more rare.

When we consistently get good quality sleep, the better our motor functions and memory will be. I’m sure many of you know that foggy headed feeling we can get after pulling an all-nighter working on something urgently. It’s incredibly dangerous especially if you’re at the wheel of a moving vehicle like a car or truck. In my home county of Hudson in New Jersey, a child and her father were killed by a man who had not slept in 26 hours and was running on 10 Aderall prescription drugs at the time of the incident. Not sleeping, can certainly be deadly! Take a look at this sleep deficit case study from the Harvard Business Review

Maintaining good sleeping habits also helps maintain a healthy weight. No sleep means an over build-up of toxins. Those toxins have to go somewhere, and that somewhere can be your fat cells with the right genetic predispositions. Toxins especially love the brain. This is why when we get little sleep we feel so foggy-headed. When you get 7-8 hours of solid deep sleep, weight should also be less of an issue since sleep helps to eliminate toxins from being stored in fat cells.

Thank goodness, that is not me anymore. I became very serious about getting good quality sleep, but it meant making some adjustments, for example my dinner time. During the work week, I follow a Chinese dinner time schedule which is 5:30pm. For many, that may be very early, but the digestive system needs at least 4 hours to fully digest a meal, which means I’ll start getting sleepy at around 9:30-10pm. That’s perfect! By the time I get ready for bed it’s the perfect time to sleep, at around 10:30-11pm max on a work day. I am now happy to say that I am a morning person! Another added lifestyle adjustment I made to my routine was incorporating herbal tinctures and essential oils. I diffuse certain calming essential oils in my bedroom, I put a couple of drops of essential oil on my pillow, I use oils topically and if I really can’t fall asleep by midnight or later, I use an herbal sleep tincture. It’s quite a delight now to get some sleep I would say. I wouldn’t trade that for anything! 

Here are some of the best essential oils for getting a good nights sleep. And at the bottom, you’ll find my evening bedtime ritual which could possibly get some getting used to, but for a good night’s sleep and good health, it’s worth it!

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 11.51.10 AM.pngScreen Shot 2016-03-09 at 11.51.48 AM.pngScreen Shot 2016-03-09 at 11.52.25 AM.pngScreen Shot 2016-03-09 at 11.52.03 AMScreen Shot 2016-03-09 at 11.53.20 AM.pngScreen Shot 2016-03-09 at 11.53.05 AM.pngScreen Shot 2016-03-09 at 11.53.37 AM.png   

A Great Night’s Sleep Routine
1. Dinner from 5:30-6:00pm
2. Shower or bath at 10:00pm
3. After bathing, apply dōTERRA Serenity blend and vetiver with carrier oil on the shoulders, back of the neck and temples.
4. Spray or apply magnesium oil (not an essential oil, rather a transdermal magnesium supplement) with cedarwood on the feet and legs. If you have sensitive skin, blend with a carrier oil like jojoba.
5. Fill a water diffuser with a few drops of sleep essential oils like juniper berry, lavender and marjoram to diffuse in the bedroom while you sleep.
6. Get to bed and sleep by 11:00pm for better productivity the following day.

Leave a Reply

